V Narayanasamay-led Puducherry government collapses

Picture by: The News Minute

Just before facing the floor test in the assembly, the chief minister of Puducherry’s Congress-led government, V Narayansamay resigned

Chinmai Sinha | Patna

Picture by: Chinmai Sinha

With the Congress government of V Narayansamay’s resignation before the floor test and BJP unit of Puducherry not ready to form a government, the Union territory seems to be headed towards President’s rule.

After a total number of six MLAs from the ruling Congress party and its ally DMK tendered their resignation, a floor test was demanded from the Opposition led by All India NR Congress founder N Rangasamy.

The floor test was ordered by Tamilisai Soundararajan, the Governor, just after she was given the additional charge of Puducherry.

Soundararajan sworn in as a Governor after the former LT. Governor Kiran Bedi was removed from the post.

Before seeking the confidence vote, V Narayanasamy proceeded to the Raj Nivas then submitted his resignation to Lt Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan.

“Myself, ministers, Congress and DMK MLAs and independent legislator have tendered resignation and sought it be accepted,” Narayanasamy said.

Ahead of the polls in Puducherry, the Congress party lost its majority in the Union Territory.

In the last one month, apart from one Congress MLA disqualified for anti-party last July, five Congress MLAs, including two senior Cabinet ministers, resigned. Three of them joined BJP.

A total of six MLAs, five from the Congress quit, while a legislator from the party got disqualified earlier.

The ruling party saw a series of resignation which lowered the House strength to 26 with the ruling, Congress (9), the DMK (2) and an Independent, having only 12 legislators.

Whereas, in the opposition the AINRC has seven legislators, the AIADMK four and the BJP three of which all are nominated MLAs.

Congress’s K Lakshmi-narayanan and ruling ally DMK’s K Venkatesan resigned on February 22.

Just three months left for the Assembly poll, the Congress, as per the reports, is “holding talks” with some AIADMK MLAs to save the government.

Before losing the trust vote V Narayanasamy said, “The Speaker’s ruling is incorrect. BJP govt at the Centre, NR Congress & AIADMK have succeeded in dislodging our govt by using voting power used by 3 nominated members. This is murder of democracy. The people of Puducherry and this country will teach them a lesson.” (ANI)

Former Chief Minister and Leader of the Opposition, N. Rangasamy addressed a press conference after the Narayanasamy-led Congress government lost the confidence vote. He said the government is blaming the Centre and former Lt. Governor, Kiran Bedi, as a cover for its own failure to implement any worthwhile scheme over the last five years. “It is a steep fall for the government,” he added.

BJP-nominated MLA, V. Saminathan said, “Being a national party, we cannot take a decision at the local level. We will consult the central leadership on the next course of action”.

The prediction made by BJP that Mr. Narayanasamy would be the last Congress Chief Minister of Puducherry would come true, Saminathan added.